Samar Elections


  PDSP vows to end dirty politics in Samar’s first district

Read more

  Widow of slain Bayan Muna member 1st to file candidacy in Samar

Read more

  COMELEC set to designate common poster areas

Read more

  Improvement of all hospitals: top priority of a gubernatorial aspirant in Samar

Read more

  Calbayog City, 3 Samar towns identified as election areas of immediate concern

Read more

  PDSP full support to Grey's congressional bid in Samar assured

Read more

  Another Figueroa enters politics; tries luck in mayoralty seat

Read more

  Voters‘ registration in Samar ’s capital increased by 11.6%

Read more




Protagonists Uy and Grey for First District Rep. of Samar file COC on the same date; Catbalogan Mayor Uy follows

March 27, 2007

CATBALOGAN, Samar  –  As election fever closely draws to its deadline, Samareños were informed that the two fierce protagonists in the office of the Representative for Samar's First district, filed their Certificates of Candidacy (COC) with only a few hours in between on March 26, 2007 at the Samar provincial COMELEC Office.

While San Jorge Mayor Joseph Grey filed his COC in the morning, Rep. Reynaldo Uy filed his towards five in the afternoon with some five Sangguniang Panlalawigan candidates in tow.

Uy cited LP/Lakas as his party along with Rosenaida Rosales, Rogelio Casurao, Pamela Fortaleza, Charlito Conejos and Renato Uy as Board Members for the First District of Samar.

As the COMELEC logbook reveals Mayor Joseph Grey cited PDSP as his party.

Ms. Virginia Lovely San Victores under PMP filed her COC for Governor.

Incumbent Governor Milagrosa Tan and Second District Representative Catalino Figueroa have yet to file their COC, said a COMELEC staff who requested anonymity.

Meanwhile, COMELEC Supervisor, Salvador Cruz said that Samar voters may now check their names in the certified official list of voters in their respective municipalities. It took the COMELEC sometime to cleanse the list said Cruz.

In Samar's capital town of Catbalogan, COMELEC Municipal Officer Edgar delos Reyes informed PIA that incumbent Mayor Coefredo 'Tekwa' Uy has also filed his COC yesterday along with a complete line up of Vice Mayor and Sangguniang Bayan members.

Vice Mayor Manuel Van Torrevillas with SB member-candidates Herminia Cabral, Perfecta Sabenicio, Teodoro Ilagan, Rodolfo Aquino, Joselito Mendoza, Leo Cojuangco and Ernesto Arcales followed suit.

Both Cruz and delos Reyes said that peace and order in Samar remains stable despite the reported violent incident in Calbayog City where two PNP elements manning the COMELEC checkpoint were killed by alleged NPA death squad.