Eastern Samar Elections


  I believe in politics of performance – Libanan

Read more

  COMELEC conducts media forum

Read more

  Barangay officials conduct ‘Operation Baklas’

Read more

  PNP, COMELEC ensure peaceful May election

Read more

  Chavit Singson wows East Samar Brgy Health Workers

Read more




COMELEC proclaims Coquilla congressman, all board members-elect

By ALICE NICART (PIA Eastern Samar)
May 21, 2007

BORONGAN, Eastern Samar  –  In what can be called a new twist in the political arena, opposition’s bet Teodolo Coquilla was proclaimed as winner in the congressional race for the lone district of Eastern Samar.

Coquilla’s victory over administration candidate Elda Libanan came as a surprise to many, who truly believed Libanan will grab the post considering the resources and machinery which Coquilla’s camp came in inferiority.

However, the votes from the Southern part of the province, Guiuan in particular apparently told Coquilla that he will be the next Eastern Samar congressman when he was better favored by Guiuananons as manifested in the 10,900 votes over Libanan’s 6,372 and a grand total of 86,232 votes while Libanan had 78,956 votes.

Thus, at shortly before midnight of Friday, May 18, Todolo Coquilla was proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers as winner in the congressional race.

The typical Pinoy in height “and not an American” as he said he was previously accused of, came in to the Hall for the proclamation and he portrayed to the media a relatively shy person that photographers had to call his name in order to capture a full frontal view of his person.

After his proclamation, Coquilla thanked his supporters, the Provincial Canvassers who devoted much of their time and energy, the media around, and the PPCRV.  His briefly spoken message was said in a tired voice perhaps due to the tedious work that he has just been through, but noticeable was his English which had an American twang but with an understandable delivery.

Other proclaimed winners were the following Board Members:  Bondos Aclao, Jun Balagapo, Jovy Opinion, Karen Alvarez, Edith Sepulveda, Enerio Sabulao, Fernando Naputo, Pedro Macabucsit, Generoso Yu and Beatriz Reyes.

The Provincial Board of Canvassers composed of Atty. Butch Beato (COMELEC), DepEd Supt., Dr. Nina Villalon and Atty. Vicente Catudio of the Provincial Fisca’ls Office.