Southern Leyte Elections


  COMELEC proclaims provincial, municipal, city winners

Read more

  Peace and Order Council seeks COMELEC control over Maasin City, 3 LGUs

Read more

  Maasin registered voters now over 43,000

Read more




It’s 8-3-1 for TU in final, official Comelec tally for senators in Southern Leyte

By BONG PEDALINO (PIA Southern Leyte)
May 23, 2007

MAASIN CITY, Leyte  –  Eight administration senatorial candidates from Team Unity (TU), three from the Genuine Opposition (GO), and one independent candidate landed in the “magic 12” after the provincial board of canvassers wrapped up their job here over the weekend.

A list obtained from the provincial Commission on Elections (Comelec) office today showed Prospero Pichay (TU) leading the pack with 82,616 votes, followed by Joker Arroyo (TU), 76,600 votes.

Loren Legarda (GO) came in third, with 75,195 votes, while the fourth up to the eight place were all occupied by TU bets.

They were as follows: Juan Miguel Zubiri - 75,090; Cesar Montano - 73,924; Edgardo Angara - 71,985; Ralph Recto - 71,335; and Michael Defensor  -  69,946.

The ninth spot was taken by Francis Pangilinan (LP), the only independent candidate in the winning circle here in the province, with 69,357 votes.

The tenth place belonged to Francis Joseph Escudero (GO), 60,073 votes, while number 11 was Vicente Magsaysay (TU), 58,109 votes.

At the tail’s end of the list was Manuel Villar (GO), with 57,401 votes garnered.